Lindenhurst High School Graduation 1963


Didn’t have time to get to this yesterday … which was the 50th Anniversary of my graduation from Lindenhurst High School, Lindenhurst (Long Island), New York.

Some pictures from Lindy — the school itself:

Lindenhurst High School

Lindenhurst High School

Our class was the last to graduate from this venerable old building (circa 1920’s).  A new high school opened the year after we graduated and this school became entirely a junior high school.

The cover of our 1963 yearbook “Bulldog” (which was also the school mascot):

Lindenhurst High School Bulldog 1963 Yearbook cover

Lindenhurst High School 1963 Yearbook

I was boys sports editor of the yearbook and wrote the boys sports reports …

… ran on the cross-country team … which finished second in the Suffolk County Class A championship meet … and I qualified for the New York state championship meet, along with teammates Ed Quigley and Ed Hertel …

Lindenhurst High School Bulldog 1963 Yearbook Cross Country

… was co-captain of the indoor track team …

Lindenhurst High School Bulldog 1963 Yearbook Indoor Track

… and ran outdoor track (though I missed most of the 1963 track season after injuring my left ankle playing pickup basketball) …

Lindenhurst High School Bulldog 1963 Yearbook Track & Field

… I was also a member of the  Varsity Club …

Lindenhurst High School Bulldog 1963 Yearbook Varsity Club

… having won 8 varsity letters (3 in cross-country, 3 in indoor track and 2 in outdoor track) …

… was on the school’s Math team …

Lindenhurst High School Bulldog 1963 Yearbook Math Team

… that’s me in the plaid jacket …

… and ran for “Mayor” in our Youth Week elections at the head of the “Rei-bel” party ticket …

Lindenhurst High School Bulldog 1963 Yearbook Youth Week

… losing to my friend Bob Schroeder (who was the captain of our county championship football team).

I have fond memories of my four years at Lindy High … and the two of my teachers who were most influential in my life … Coach Carl Greenhut, who was both my PE teacher and my track coach … and Angela Hughes, my English teacher who taught me many of the language and creative writing skills on which I have relied ever since.

Lindenhurst High School Bulldogs

Leave a Reply

